Advice on DMP Pen Design

Home Forums Deer, What Else? Advice on DMP Pen Design

This topic contains 1 reply, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Cathy 4 years ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Cathy
    Keymaster

Monday, November 18, 2013
    dwschnitzer
    We are planning to build a DMP pen in the next few months. I have put some thought into the design, but I wanted to get some input/advice from guys on WD who’ve done it. Also, do you have any companies that you’d recommend to build the pen? We are in southern Frio county.

Thanks,
    Douglas

Cathy
    Keymaster

Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    Macy

Location, location, location. I happen to have 47% of all DMP users in Texas as my clients, so I have some experience with DMP pens. I have captured 351 deer this month so far for DMP pens and have many more to catch before December 14..
    Pen location should be off the beaten path and far from any human activity areas. It should be on high ground so water won’t ever stand in the event of a flood and it should be away from any oilfield areas, any powerline company areas, away from easements/pipeline senderos and not easily found by someone driving the main ranch roads.